Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center review
A physician-owned clinic in Oakland, Maine, with walk-in consultations and no contracts.
The verdict
Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center prices semaglutide at $200 a month. It is an in-person clinic first. The physician who runs it is named, and consultations are free. Visits are weekly, biweekly or monthly, at the patient's choice.
Disclosure: This GLP is reader-supported. Some links below are affiliate links — if you start care through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. The order on this page is not commercial, and a commission never changes what we write about a provider. How we make money.
- Category
- GLP-1 telehealth
- Molecule
- Semaglutide · Tirzepatide
- Form
- Injection
- Dose pricing
- Rises with dose
- From
- From $200/mo
- Dose published
- Yes
- Prescription
- Required
- Pharmacy
- Not named
The center is a private clinic at 8 Water Street in Oakland, Maine. Its weight-loss pages describe semaglutide and tirzepatide injections. The site also markets retatrutide, which is investigational, not FDA-approved; FDA says it cannot be used in compounding under federal law. It also sells oral weight-loss medicines, peptides and testosterone therapy. Telehealth appointments are offered alongside clinic visits. The clinic does not bill insurance. It takes HSA and FSA cards.
Who writes the prescription, and what do they see?
The prescriber is Dr. Gillis, an osteopathic physician and surgeon licensed in Maine. The site states he holds privileges at MaineGeneral and St. Mary's. Consultations are free, every Wednesday afternoon, with no appointment needed. The patient brings pre-screening and consent forms to that visit. The evaluation for tirzepatide is stated to happen on site.
Treatment can start the same day as the consultation. Staff teach the first injection in the clinic and observe briefly afterward. The remaining injections go home with the patient. Staff will give the weekly injection in the office on request. A follow-up visit comes before the last injection in each supply.
What happens when the dose goes up?
Dose changes are made at the follow-up visit, after weight is reviewed. The site states a micro-dosing approach: the lowest dose for the shortest time. A linked pricing sheet lists higher charges at higher semaglutide and tirzepatide doses. The sheet does not specify how much treatment time each charge covers. Confirm the prescribed dose, supply and refill cost with the clinic.
What the price includes
Semaglutide is $200 a month on the Medication Info & Pricing page. No long-term contract is required. Tirzepatide starts at $300 a month on the same page. A linked sheet lists semaglutide from $225 and tirzepatide from $325, with a $25 cash discount. That arithmetic matches the page headlines, but the sheet does not independently state a billing interval. Confirm the payment method and total before treating either headline as your ongoing bill. The FAQ lists a discount for paying in cash, a referral credit and a rewards program. A lower figure on the homepage is a Seize the Deal voucher. Treat that voucher as a promotion, not the monthly price.
What it claims, and what it cites
The site does not say on the pricing page whether its semaglutide is compounded or branded. The FAQ says compounded tirzepatide can be discussed for eligible patients. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved. No pharmacy is named.
Where it holds up, and where it does not
- Strength: The prescribing physician is named
- Strength: Free walk-in consultations every Wednesday
- Strength: No long-term contracts are required
- Strength: Injection teaching in the clinic
- Limitation: No pharmacy is named
- Limitation: Semaglutide supply type is not stated
- Limitation: Clinic visits are in Oakland, Maine
- Limitation: Dose-price sheet does not state the supply interval
What the evidence says about this kind of treatment
The assessment above is about Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center. These are about the drugs it sells, and they are traced to the primary literature.
- Right for
- A Central Maine patient who wants a named physician and in-person follow-up.
- Wrong for
- A buyer outside Maine who wants a fully remote service with published dose pricing.
The evidence behind what Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center prescribes
These studies examine the medicines, not this provider. Results with approved products do not establish the quality or effectiveness of a seller’s compounded formulation.
- Cochrane Review of Semaglutide for Obesity: 18 Trials Graded
A 2025 Cochrane review pooled eighteen randomized trials. The weight figure is high certainty and smaller than the marketing, and almost everything else is graded lower.
- Tirzepatide vs Semaglutide: Which Works Better for Weight Loss?
In a 72-week randomized trial at weight-management doses, weight fell 20.2 percent on tirzepatide and 13.7 percent on semaglutide. Routine-care studies found a smaller gap, three to four points.
How Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center compares
| Seller | Who it suits | Go |
|---|---|---|
| A reader weighing a tablet against an injection who wants the decision to be about the routine rather than the cost. | See DoctorAdam → | |
| Buyers in one of the six states it serves who want refund terms stated before the intake | See TrueMe → | |
| Buyers who want one all-in figure and the compounding pharmacy named beside it | See FMmeds → |
More GLP-1 telehealth sellers reviews: Auren RxAVARA RxAvono HealthAZ HealthBalanced Hormone HealthBayan Health
Sponsored alternative
SkinnyRx
Readers choosing tirzepatide, the one line with a published standing rate
Check SkinnyRx availability →Frequently asked
- What does semaglutide cost at Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center?
- $200 a month is the page headline. Its linked dose-price sheet starts at $225 with a $25 cash discount; higher doses cost more. Confirm your supply and payment terms. No contract is required.
- Is the homepage starting-dose offer the monthly price?
- No. It is a Seize the Deal voucher. The pricing page states the monthly figure.
- Do I have to go to the clinic?
- Consultations are held in Oakland, Maine. Telehealth appointments are also offered.
- Is Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center expensive compared with other GLP-1 telehealth sellers?
- Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center publishes a starting figure of $200/mo. Across the 402 GLP-1 telehealth sellers we review that publish a single monthly figure, those run $49 to $525.42 with a median of $190, which puts Dr. Gillis' Wellness Center above the median. The other 178 GLP-1 telehealth sellers we review quote only after an intake or price by dose, so they are not in that comparison. A starting figure is not a bill — labs, consultations and shipping are often charged separately, so confirm what your own quote includes.
Sources for this review
Provider information checked . Terms can change.